Click, Read, Comment, Connect, & Chill. We're all friends here.

LACMA Trip


My trip to LACMA was very interesting!!! I went to LACMA on President’s Day so we were able to have free admission! I went with my friend Weifan and she’s from China so we went to the Korean and Chinese art exhibits and i was amazed by what we saw.

Some of the Chinese art was very colorful and had the slightest detail that made it so unique. I took a few photos of the pottery they had. They were very vivid and colorful, some were big and some were small. My favorites were the “Foliated Platter (Pan) with the Eight Buddhist Symbols (Bajixiang), Flowers, and Waves” This one was one of my favorites because i liked the color choices and the symbols it had in the middle. I could only imagine what they would use this platter for!

photo 3

Another Chinese pot that I thought was pretty interesting was the “Water Pot with Dragon Medallions”. It took me a while to actually see the dragon medallions because you need to look very closely. At a glance this little pot is really neat and up close the pot because extraordinary! A little strange that this little thing was a pot. Maybe it wasn’t used as an actual pot you put on your stove.

photo 2I also saw this dressing room like curtain that caught my attention. I believe it was in the Korean art exhibit. It’s really nice and well designed and was stretched out against the wall. I’m not sure if it really is a curtain that you would normally dress behind like in some traditions but it seemed like it! Here is a picture of it…photo 4

Gorgeous isn’t it!!

There were plenty of neat little statues up as well. I saw this “Standing Buddha” that I have never seen before. It surely doesn’t look like the ordinary Buddha we usually see. This one was skinny and wore a robe. This was pretty interesting because I have never seen a slim Buddha wearing a robe. We also saw this painting of a man that looked as if you would hang them on your walls. They looked so alive and vivid with colors and the color schemes and textures looked so real and just made the painting live! There was this little horse as well. Very colorful and beautiful in its stance. LACMA Chinese and Korean art exhibit had some very nice paintings and sculptures and I was able to learn some history as well since Weifan knew a bit of Chinese history.

 photo 1photo 1 (2)photo 2 (2)

Leave a Reply

